

Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement Of Elections) Act, 1991

15 of 1991

[04 June 1991]

CONTENTS

1. Short Title

2. Definitions

3 . <u>Postponement Of General Elections, Consequences And</u> <u>Validation</u>

Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement Of Elections) Act, 1991

15 of 1991

[04 June 1991]

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE POSTPONEMENT OF ECTIONS TO MUNICIPAL COUNCILS OF THE STATE. BE it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Orissa in the Forty-second Year of the Republic of India as follows:- For the Bill See Orissa Gazette, Extraordinary, dated the 26th February 1991 (No. 230)

1. Short Title :-

This Act may be called the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1991.

2. Definitions :-

In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires,-

(a) "Municipal Act" mans the Orissa Municipal Act, 1950(Orissa Act 23 of 1950);

(b) "Municipal Council" means a Municipal Council constituted under the Municipal Act and includes a Notified Area Council constituted thereunder;

(c) Words and expressions used herein and not defined in this Act but defined in the Municipal Act shall have the same meaning as respectively assigned to them in the Municipal Act.

<u>3.</u> Postponement Of General Elections, Consequences And Validation :-

Notwithstanding anything contained in the Municipal Act, the Balugaon Notified Area Council (Extension of Term of Office and validation) Act, 1990(Orissa Act 13 of 1990), Bhubaneswar Municipal Council (Postponement of Election and validation) Act, 1990(Orissa Act 15 to 1990) or any other Act or in any rules or orders or notifications made or issue under the Municipal Act(Orissa Act 12 of 1990),-

(a) all proceedings or actions taken in furtherance of holding general elections for the constitution or reconstitution, as the case may be, of the Municipal Councils specified in the Schedule are hereby cancelled;

(b) the general elections for the constitution, or reconstitution, as the case may be, of the said Municipal Councils shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Act and the rules made thereunder on such date, not being later than the 31st December 1991, as the State Government may, by notification, direct and the Municipal Council so reconstituted shall, for all intents and purposes, be deemed to have been constituted under and be governed by, the provisions of the Municipal Act.

(c) All actions taken, things done or orders passed by the Special Officer, appointed under sub-section (1) of section 423 of the Municipal Act in relation to the Bhubaneswar Municipal Council during the period commencing on the 1st January, 1991 till the date of commencement of this Act, under the belief or purported belief that the election to the said Municipal Council was validly postponed shall, for all intents and purposes, be deemed to have been validly taken, done of made, as the case may be, and no such action, thing or order shall be called in question in any court of law or otherwise open to challenge merely on the ground that the election to the Municipal Council was not validly postponed; and.

(d) The omission on the part of the Special Officer referred to in clause (c) for not holding the election to the Bhubaneswar Municipal Council within the required time shall not be called in question in any Court of Law or otherwise open to challenge merely on the ground that the Special Officer did not act in accordance with the Law.

	······ ··· ···························
Number 1.	Banki Notified Area Council
2.	Pattamundai Notified Area Council
3.	Puri Municipal Council
4.	Khandapara Notified Area Council
5.	Jaleswar Notified Area Council
6.	Bhadrak Municipal Council
7.	Nilagiri Notified Area Council
8.	Brajarajnagar Municipal Council
9.	Barpalli Notified Area Council
10.	Barbil Municipal Council
11.	Joda Notified Area Council
12.	Bolangir Municipal Council
13.	Patnagarh Notified Area Council
14.	Rourkela Municipal Council
15.	Chatrapur Notified Area Council
16.	Kabisuryanagar Notified Area Council
17.	Aska Notified Area Council
18.	Ganjam Notified Area Council
19.	Jeypore Municipal Council
20.	Gunupur Notified Area Council
21.	Baripada Municipal Council
22.	Bhubaneswar Municipal Council
23.	Balugaon Notified Area Council
24.	Jajpur Municipal Council
25.	Kendrapara Municipal Council
26.	Jagatsinghpur Notified Area Council
27.	Jajpur Road Notified Area Council
28.	Athagarh Notified Area Council
29.	Nayagarh Notified Area Council
30.	Khurda Notified Area Council
31.	Jatani Notified Area Council
32.	Pipili Notified Area Council
33.	Banapur Notified Area Council
34.	Nimapara Notified Area Council
35.	Basudebpur Soro Notified Area Council
36.	Soro Notified Area Council
37.	Rairangpur Notified Area Council
38.	Udala Notified Area Council
39.	Karanjia Notified Area Council
40.	Iharsuguda Municipal Council

41.	Bargarh Municipal Council
42.	Deogarh Municipal Council
43.	Padampur Notified Area Council
44.	Kuchinda Notified Area Council
45.	Talcher Municipal Council
46.	Angul Notified Area Council
47.	Bhuban Notified Area Council
48.	Sonepur Municipal Council
49.	Titilagarh Notified Area Council
50.	Kanthabhanji Notified Area Council
51.	Tarava Notified Area Council
52	Binika Notified Area Council
53.	Rajgangpur Municipal Council
54.	Sorada Notified Area Council
55.	Rambha Notified Area Council
56.	Gopalpur Notified Area Council
57.	Hinjilcut Notified Area Council
58.	Kashinagar Notified Area Council
59.	Polsara Notified Area Council
60.	Khalikote Notified Area Council
61.	Buguda Notified Area Council
62.	Chikiti Notified Area Council
63.	Purusottampur Notified Area Council
64.	Digapahandi Notified Area Council
65.	Nowrngpur Municipal Council
66.	Rayagada Municipal Council
67.	Kotpad Notified Area Council
68.	Umerkote Notified Area Council
69.	Godari Notified Area Council
70.	Khariar Notified Area Council
71.	Khariar Road Notified Area Council
72.	Junagarh Notified Area Council
73.	Kesinga Notified Area Council
74.	Phulbani Notified Area Council
75.	Balasore Municipal Council
76.	Sambalpur Municipal Council
77.	Keonjhar Municipal Council
78.	Dhenkanal Municipal Council
79.	Sundargarh Municipal Council
80.	Berhampur Municipal Council
81.	Bhawanipatna Municipal Council

~~.	
82.	Konark Notified Area Council
83.	Kodala Notified Area Council
84.	Kamakshyanagar Notified Area Council
85.	Malkangiri Notified Area Council
86.	G. Udayagiri Notified Area Council
87.	Boudhgarh Notified Area Council
88.	Koraput Notified Area Council
89.	Biramitrapur Municipal Council
90.	Paralakhemundi Municipal Council
91.	Bellaguntha Notified Area Council
92.	Bhanjanagar Notified Area Council
93.	Chaudwar Municipal Council
94.	Anandapur Notified Area Council
95.	Hirakud Notified Area Council
96.	Cuttack Municipal Council